Severe Penalties For DUI And DWI

In New Jersey, prosecutors take impaired driving changes seriously — often seeking the maximum penalties possible. Often, it is only your defense attorney who can shield you from hefty fines, lengthy jail time and the loss of your driving privileges.

As a defense lawyer with more than 20 years of legal experience, I am trusted to provide exceptional representation to clients in Passaic County and communities throughout New Jersey. At my firm, the Law Office of Susan C. Cassell, I am a trusted legal resource with experience both as a prosecutor and criminal defense attorney. I handle my cases aggressively, and fight to protect my clients whether I am negotiating with the prosecutor's office or defending my clients in court.

Various Penalties For DUI And DWI Offenses

In many states, a clear distinction is made between driving under the influence (DUI) and driving while intoxicated (DWI) in terms of penalties. In New Jersey, however, DUI and DWI penalties are based largely on the severity of the charge itself and your criminal history.

The penalties can include the following:

First offense

  • Loss of driving privileges for three months
  • Up to $400 in fines, plus additional surcharges
  • Possible 30 days of jail time
  • Possible ignition interlock requirement for up to 12 months

Second offense (within 10 years of first offense)

  • Up to $1000 in fines, plus additional surcharges
  • Jail time up to 90 days
  • 30 days of community service
  • Loss of driving privileges for at least two years
  • Ignition interlock requirement following return of license

Third offense (within 10 years of second offense)

  • Minimum $1000 fine, plus additional surcharges
  • Up to 90 days of community service
  • 180 days of jail time

  • 10 years of license suspension
  • Ignition interlock device requirement

While these might be the most common penalties, the list certainly does not represent all of the consequences. You might face additional insurance surcharges and alcohol/substance abuse assessments. To protect your freedom, your future and your criminal record, it is critical that you seek the counsel of a skilled Morris County defense lawyer as soon as possible.

Schedule A Free Consultation At My Bergen County Law Office

My firm can be reached by phone or through email. Call 201-972-6653 to schedule a free consultation to discuss your case and your legal options. I am usually available 24 hours a day, seven days a week for initial and emergency consultations, and I can meet with you in a variety of convenient locations, including the Bergen County Courthouse and in jails.